The 72/144 hour Transit Visa Exemption

Foreign travelers transiting through China within 72 hours to reach another country of destination may be eligible for the 72-hour Transit Visa Exemption. This visa exemption is only available to citizens of participating countries traveling through participating ports of entry in China.

To obtain this visa exemption, the foreign national must have a valid passport from one of the 53 countries, which includes:

  1. 24 Schengen countries in Europe (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland);
  2. 15 other European countries (Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, UK, and Ukraine);
  3. Six countries in North and South America (Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico, and US);
  4. Two Oceanic countries (Australia and New Zealand); and
  5. Six Asian countries (Brunei, Japan, Qatar, Singapore, South Korea, and UAE).

72/144 Hour Visa-free Transit

From Dec 1, 2019, 20 Chinese cities with 27 ports will offer 144-hour visa-free transit services, and 3 Chinese cities with 3 ports will offer 72-hour visa-free transit services to foreign travelers from 53 countries. Please refer to the following details

Cities and ports with 144-hour visa-free transit in China

NoCityPortStart DateCan stay in these areas
1ShanghaiShanghai Pudong Airport / Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport / Shanghai Railway Station / Shanghai Port International Cruise Terminal / Shanghai Wusong Passenger Transport CenterJan 30, 2016Shanghai, Jiangsu Province, Zhejiang Province
Nanjing, Jiangsu provinceNanjing Lukou international AirportJan 30, 2016
Hangzhou, Zhejiang provinceHangzhou Xianshan International AirportJan 30, 2016
Ningbo, Zhejiang provinceNingbo Lishe International AirportDec 1, 2019
2BeijingBeijing Capital International Airport / Beijing West Railway AirportDec 28, 2017Beijing, Tianjin, Hebei Province
TianjinTianjing Binhai International Airport / Tianjin International Cruise Home PortDec 28, 2017
Shijiazhuang, Hebei provinceShijiazhuang Zhengding International AirportDec 28, 2017
Qinhuangdao, Hebei provinceQinhuangdao PortDec 28, 2017
3Shenyang, Liaoning provinceShenyang Taoxin International AirportJan 1, 2018Liaoning Province
Dailian, Liaoning provinceDailian Zhoushuizi International AirportJan 1, 2018Liaoning Province
4Qingdao, Shandong ProvinceQingdao Liuting International AirportJan 1, 2019Shandong province
5Xiamen, Fujian ProvinceXiamen Gaoqi International AirportJan1, 2019Fujian province
6Kunming, Yunnan provinceKunming Changshui International AirportJan 1, 2019Kunming, Yunnan province
7Wuhan, Hubei ProvinceWuhan Tianhe International AirportJan 1, 2019Wuhan, Hubei province
8Chengdu, Sichuan ProvinceChengdu Shuangliu International AirportJan 1, 2019Chengdu, Leshan, Deyang, Suining, Meishan, Ya’an, Ziyang, Neijiang, Zigong, Luzhou, Yibin
9GuangzhouGuangzhou baiyun International AirportMay 1, 2019Guangdong Province
Shenzhen, Guangdong provinceShenzhen International Airportmay 1, 2019Guangdong Province
Jieyang, Guangdong provinceJieyang Chaoshan international airportMay 1, 2019Guangdong Province
10ChongqingChongqing Jiangbei International AirportDec 1, 2019Chongqing
11Xi’an, Shaanxi provinceXi’an Xianyang International AirportDec 1,2019Xi’an, Xianyang Shaanxi province